Mother, my first love

mmm

Mother has always been there

My first images of the world

Were her pair of beautiful eyes

It keenly watched me since

Never too rebuking nor approving

They just shone on like a beacon

 

Mother was the first concept of beauty

My mind recognized on earth

Her features soft and comforting

Hers; was the first voice that sang to me

The first smile that shone on me

The first fingers that trickled me

 

Mother taught me to speak kind words

Corrected me till I made perfect sounds

Never tiring of my meaningless babbles

Always ready to hear and smile

Many mornings she woke me before twilight

And read me bibles verses till twilight

 

Mother was my first instructor

She taught me to read time

The hours, minutes and seconds

When to eat, play and sleep

She taught me the changes of weather

The myths behind storms and rainbows

 

Mother guided me through my first steps

She held and steadied me

Till I was strong and firm

I watched her closely everyday

And imitated her facial expressions

Her smiles, laughter and rebuke

 

Mother prepared my first meals

And for many years too

So her dishes formed my taste buds

How I always hunger for those manna

Mother was my first everything

My friend, my confident and my lover

 

 

Leave a Reply

